It’d All About the Effort

So.. just finished Day 5 of Insanity.

I can say that I haven’t been able to fully follow each video in its entirety yet. But I’m not as out of breath as I was when I first started five days ago. I’m working towards it, and well, starting next week I’ll push harder and and “dig deeper.” I guess this week is just me trying to get a feel of it and not overdoing it to the point where I dread working out and eventually stop. 

I also weighed myself this morning: 123.4. I’m not entirely sure if that’s all water weight that I’ve been losing or I’ve really been burning the fat off of myself. I still can’t tell yet. I’ve definitely been eating at least four times a day, trying to maintain a 1500 calorie intake diet. I was originally 126.something when I first weighed myself on the scale when I got it on Sunday. A week later, I’ve lost approximately 3 pounds? 

The Biochemist/Pharmacist in me says that’s not healthy. Healthy weight loss is anywhere between 0.5 to 2 pounds a week. But it might just be a combination of the work out, the increased water intake, and the smaller more frequent meals making it so that my blood sugar’s more stable. We’ll keep this up another week and then adjust accordingly.

A few weeks ago when I was back home at my parents, I stepped on a scale for the first time in a long time and it measured 127-ish. That was when I realized that I was letting myself go with pharmacy school, whether or not it was due to inactivity (when I was working I was always rushing back and forth in the restaurant or pharmacy) or because I’ve been eating more (other than going to school, studying and sleeping, all that’s left is eating). But in any case, I’m going to aim to hopefully go back down to somewhere between 110 and 115. If anything, to fit back into my size 2 dress pants that are a bit too tight around the waist/hips now. 

If anyone’s reading this and think that my weight goals are ridiculous, well… I’m tiny. 5’2″ to be exact. Up until this year, I was always hovering around 115 pounds plus or minus a couple of pounds. When I quit tennis during senior year of high school because I didn’t like the new coaches and how they let the JV team get enormously large, I started to develop those love handles. After all of that, I never really got back into any physical activity any more besides my racquet sports gym class freshman year of college. It wasn’t until December 2010 that I decided to do something different with myself, and start working out despite the fact that I had no idea how to start. I just got a gym membership and started to go three times a week or something like that after I got off work, refusing to let myself go home until I’ve been to the gym. 

Then I got really sick, as in it hurt to breathe sick. And that was the end of my work out streak. When I got to pharmacy school, the school gave us free gym membership to the gym at the hospital next door. And well, I started to go there more frequently, but exams got in the way and all that jazz. Then the weather got in the way cause it was always cold and there’s one thing I dislike doing and that’s going out into the cold and walking in it after working out super hard and burning up from the inside out. 

At least with Insanity, I can do it in the comforts of my own home and can just jump into the shower right afterwards like I’m about to do after I finish this post. Going to eat a bit afterwards, go to the store to get more cereal and some pineapple and then afterwards come back home and watch some Pharmacology and start studying for my exams. Wee!

Don’t we all love Pharmacy school?

About zexification

25 year old, attempting to explore the world and herself one entry at a time! View all posts by zexification

Leave a Reply

