We’re Down to 25

I was going to upload a post every day about what I’ve been eating and everything, but there was nothing all that exciting about it. I had tilapia (seasoned with garlic powder, pepper, sugar, and a little salt) in some spring rolls with my pineapple hot sauce (mam) that I made a while back for two evenings. Tacos using some chicken thighs that I had again as well. I guess I had that two nights in a row.

For my Spring Rolls, I had the tilapia, rice vermicelli, green lettuce, cucumbers, spearmint, and fish mint (rau dap ca). The pineapple hot sauce was made with crushed pineapple, sriracha sauce, and some shrimp paste with sugar here and there until I was satisfied with the degree of sweetness and spiciness. It’s something my mom got me hooked on when I was a kid growing up. I was craving it and finally gave up waiting until I came home to Colorado during breaks to eat some of my mom’s version. I pretty much just knew of the ingredients and thus winged the whole process, throwing them into my food processor. The result was pretty decent and I was most definitely satisfied with the results. I ate the last of it when I ate the spring rolls the second night. I guess I won’t be having any more spring rolls in a while. Sad day.

For my Tacos, they’re just.. well tacos. I guess I had these for two nights since the last post as well. So I alternated between spring rolls and tacos. They were just chicken tacos. Nothing special I guess. For my chicken, the first night I used the left over chicken from the last post and shredded it before tossing it with some taco seasoning that I had in my cupboards. The second night, I just cooked two chicken breasts the same way, but it was so good I got distracted and forgot about the taco seasoning so those were just plain. For the complete taco ensemble, I had corn tortillas, sour cream, lettuce, corn, salsa, and a bit of Mexican blend cheese. That was pretty much it for me when it came to tacos. Some enchiladas right now, or a carnita burrito from Santiago’s back home sounds amazing right now.

At some point, I also made pasta with Parmesan breaded tilapia. I seasoned the fish with cayenne, pepper, and some salt, with garlic powder. Then just did a typical breading, with panko bread crumbs. I did a garlic olive oil light sauce to toss with spinach and tomatoes. I also had a side salad where I used balamic vinaigrette as my dressing.

Yesterday I was a bad girl, I didn’t really do much cooking of any sorts. I just ate one of my lean cuisines. And then afterwards, I went to KFC and got some potato wedges, and somehow ended up leaving with the desired potato wedges and the mac and cheese. The mac and cheese wasn’t as satisfying as I was hoping it’d be, and I put extra shredded cheddar jack on it too. I guess working at Noodles&Company for three and a half years spoiled me when it comes to mac and cheese and nothing will ever be comparable to it.

This morning, I ate a bowl of cereal, then cleaned my apartment and all that jazz. After that was done, I went onto SuperCook.com and went to see what I could make with what I had again. I ended up deciding on making a three course meal: appetizer, main entrée, and dessert. Of course, with the recipes I found, I had to scale down too, otherwise I’d be eating everything for days and that’s no fun for my tongue.

For my appetizer, I made a tomato salad of sorts: Roma Tomato Salad with Feta and Garlic. This was delicious. I was surprised at how well it came out and everything. I did have to substitute the fresh basil leaves for dried basil. I can only imagine how much better this tomato salad would have been if I had fresh basil leaves. I wish that basil plant of mine survived these past few months. Perhaps I’ll buy another one when I come back out here at the end of October. Basil is by far my favorite herb, I love it in pizza, and always sprinkle a dash of it in my pasta regardless of what kind of pasta it is.

Then comes the entrée:  Spinach Shrimp Fettuccine. Originally, I wanted to make something with salmon tonight but I guess I just couldn’t decide what I wanted to do with it, because I had some spinach left over that I needed to eat before it went bad, and then I also had some left over pasta from another one of those nights. I guess I had pasta at some point between the last post and now too, cause last time I had left over linguine. But this time, instead of using fettuccine noodles (since I don’t even have any), I used up the rest of my already cooked cellentani noodles. I also had some shrimp that I needed to eat by some point too before the month is over, so I figured why not. I’ll figure out what to do with the salmon at some other point. The pasta is definitely delicious. It definitely packed a light flavor to it, and it was quite satisfying. When it called for italian seasoning, I didn’t have any but looked up a few home versions of it to get an idea of what to put in. In the end, I used dried basil leaves, thyme leaves, oregano, crushed red peppers, garlic powder, and some of this peppercorn medley that I had in my cupboards. The results was delicious, I will definitely be making this again at some point.

Finally, dessert: Amish Apple Crisp. It’s been a while since I’ve had an apple crisp, and I actually really do like apple crisps. I like them plain even, without the ice cream to accompany it. I wasn’t even planning on making a dessert, but I was looking through SuperCooks, and I figured what the heck, let’s see what sorts of desserts it says I can make with the ingredients I had in my kitchen. I needed to take care of the apples that I had in my fridge anyways before they’d get too old and not tasty. So I guess that’s what I did, and I winged it. It actually just came out of the oven and smells delicious. For the actual apple layer, only put 1/8 of a cup of sugar to it instead of the 1/4 cup that it told me too, cause I really don’t like eating things that are too sweet. I also mixed some of the cinnamon into the topping layer too instead of just sprinkling it on top. I just finished eating some, and it’s DELICIOUS!

So yeah, that concludes my food update so far. I haven’t gone to the store yet to buy actual groceries! (I did go to the store to pick up some milk, oatmeal, and more sour cream though for future tacos). As of right now, I’m planning on making some shrimp pad thai, and one pan fish tacos at one point. But we’ll see where this food journey takes me.

About zexification

25 year old, attempting to explore the world and herself one entry at a time! View all posts by zexification

Leave a Reply

