[Day 9: Trying Something Different]

After the increase in weight from last time, I got really discouraged and started to try and analyze what I’ve been doing wrong. By decreasing my usual intake and exercising consistently in the last week there should have been some sort of decrease in weight by the time the one week mark came around. Unfortunately, the week mark came around it and it appears as though I gained a pound. However, this morning I dropped down to 122 pounds, which is a decrease from the week mark, which is sort of progress compared to the weights of the last two days. I wish my weight didn’t fluctuate so much. I weigh myself at the same time every day when I do record a weight though. First thing in the morning, naked as I’m waiting for the water for my morning shower to warm up.

In any case, I spent a few hours last night just browsing the internet to see if there was anything that I was doing wrong, or if I needed to do something differently. In the end, everything is inconclusive. All I got out of it was that as a petite female, this whole weight loss thing is potentially a lost cause since I’m genetically engineered to maintain my fat storage, and my petite size makes it difficult for dietary modifications without putting my body into starvation mode. Sounds great, huh?

Another thing I found is that cardio workouts aren’t that effective as weight training exercises, because you don’t get as much bang for your buck in terms of calories burned. At least that’s the belief of one of the sources I found. I have been doing some weight training, but it’s more strength training than actually working out with weights. It was an upper arm strength routine that the personal trainer at the gym I go to gave me when I came in for a free consultation. I never really thought of weight training as a big calorie burner, it just seems counterintuitive. I mean, with cardio work outs I feel my body working extra hard (lots of sweat and increased heart rate). For weight training, I usually find myself thinking “Ughhh this is heavy. Arghhh my knees are shaking. I can do this!”

I also made the mistake of walking down the dieting aisle at Wegmans when I stopped by to get some almond butter packets. I’ve never had it before so I wanted to try it out before I commit to an entire jar of it (99 cents for a packet). Being a pharmacist to be, I’m very skeptical with any sort of dieting pills, and in terms of dietary modifications for weight loss I have the general gist of it from my semester of Nutrition (3500 calories = 1 pound! Lose 1-2 pounds a week and that’s considered healthy weight loss). I started to look at the SlimFast stuff, and I caved. I ended up buying a 4 pack of the shake and a box that contained 5 of their meal bars. We’ll see how that goes. I suppose I could have gone with the actual can of shake powder, but I feel like I’m betraying my roommate when I do that since she has a side business selling nutritional shakes. I might ask her about it, but I have a feeling it’s $49.99 for a month’s supply provided that I have 1 shake a day. I’m also not quite sure if I’m a fan of the single flavor that they have right now, granted you can add things into the shake to flavor it more.

I guess I’m impatient, and after a week with no results, I’m changing things up again. I’m not entirely sure if I’m changing too many things too fast, or anything along those lines. But I feel like I need to initiate some sort of change, because I’m not getting desired results. In any case, I figured I’d just use up the Slim Fast stuff I have right now and see how that goes in the next week. I’m not doing what they say I should do, but I’ll just use it to replace a meal or something for now. I don’t think I can handle going with what they wanted me to do: three snacks, two SlimFast meals, and one 500-calorie meal.

I also looked into the whole weight training bit, and I found the Rebel Fitness Guide on NerdFitness.com. After reading the many pages of their ebooks, I really do believe in their philosophy and in theory it should work for a person like me. Who knows? So that’s going to be the commitment of the week, ready to start the Rookie Workout Guide later today once I get my glasses made and shove some food inside of me. I forgot that I was going to do that, and despite my breakfast I’m starving at 12:30pm.

[The Numbers]

  • Weight: 122.0 pounds
  • Water Intake:  500 mL by 8am, 750 mL by 11am, 750 mL by 2pm, 500 mL during lunch, 973 mL decaffinated green tea
  • Workout Time: 30 minutes weight training, 30 minutes raquetball

[The Meal Plan]

  • Breakfast: one 100-calorie English muffin with peanut butter and honey, 1 soft-boiled egg
  • Lunch: two sushi rolls
  • Dinner: 1 spicy Italian chicken sausage (140), 1/4 cup red smashed potatoes from Wegmans (~80), 1 box of steamed Brussels sprouts in butter (120)
About zexification

25 year old, attempting to explore the world and herself one entry at a time! View all posts by zexification

Leave a Reply

