[Day 10: Unexpected 4 Day Weekend]

I knew that I was going to get a 3-day weekend (off on Monday for Columbus Day), but somehow that became a 4 day weekend. In clinic, we usually see patients Mondays and Thursdays, spending Wednesdays and Fridays working up the patients for the days we see them in clinic. Since we won’t be seeing patients on Monday, there’s no real need to be at clinic on Friday. So ta-da! I get a 4 day weekend that wasn’t expected. If I hadn’t asked what my preceptor wanted us to do tomorrow, I’m pretty sure that the other students and myself would be driving that hour to go to clinic to sit there for 4 hours with nothing to do.

I was originally supposed to run the 5k ROC race (Ridiculous Obstacle Course), but due to the government shutdown the people who put together the run couldn’t set anything up since the National Recreational Area is closed off until the government turns back on again. Is that how you would phrase it? That’s how I’m going to phrase it for now. So yeah, no race means no NYC trip for the weekend. There was potential that the race would be postponed until the following weekend on the 19th and 20th, if the government turns on again by Monday. But given that it’s my birthday weekend, I really didn’t want to go down to NYC for it and I would rather just hang out around here in Massachusetts where there’s a potential of hanging out with people I haven’t seen in a few months.

Thankfully, they gave me my refund. That money is going directly to my Personal Placement Service for pharmacy jobs this coming December. It all works out I guess. I actually didn’t realize I had that much work to do until I was looking at things this past 24 hours. Lots of things to do with residency applications, preparations, selection, etc. Not to mention job applications, interview preparations, etc. AND on top of that I have presentation posters to put together for a pharmacy conference down in Florida this December, and then my grad poster as well where the topic proposal is due at the beginning of next month.

Oy Vey!

So I guess I’ll spend my weekend working out, sleeping, and doing work. Hopefully I’ll get a chunk of what I want done done. Otherwise, man this is going to suck.

 

[The Numbers]

  • Weight: 122.5 pounds
  • Water Intake:  750 mL by 11 am, 750 mL by 3pm, 750 mL by 7:30pm, 750 mL by bedtime – 3,000 mL of water
  • Workout Time: Treadmill for 40 minutes, Weight Room working on upper arm muscles for 20 minutes = 1 hour of work out time

[The Meal Plan]

  • Breakfast: one 100-calorie English muffin with peanut butter and honey, 1 soft-boiled egg, 1 clementine
  • Lunch: 1 serving chicken-olive sauté (Recipe found on Prevention.com) with 1/4 cup of quinoa; finished off with two clementines
  • Dinner: 1 spicy Italian chicken sausage (140), two handfuls of spinach sauteed (30-40) with a handful of cherry tomatoes (15-20), 1 corn on the cob (63), and 1/4 cup of Wegman’s red smashed potatoes (80)
  • Snack: 2 clementines, 1 granny smith apple with fat free french vanilla yogurt fruit dip
About zexification

25 year old, attempting to explore the world and herself one entry at a time! View all posts by zexification

Leave a Reply

